Use the Browser BACK button to return to listings

June 11, 2001

NDP MPs appointed to the Government

President Moi appoints several NDP MPs to the cabinet signaling a strengthening of the cooperation between KANU and NDP.

The four members of the National Development Party (NDP) who join the KANU cabinet are:

  • Raila Odinga - Minister for Energy
  • Dr. Adhu Awiti - Minister for Planning and National Development
  • Peter Odoyo - Assistant Minister for Foreign Affairs
  • Joshua Ojodeh - Assistant Minister for Education, Science and Technology.

Raila Odinga being sworn in as the new Minister of Energy (PPS)

The new cabinet forms the core of Kenya's first 'coalition' government since independence. Even though the constitution does not allow the formation of a coalition government, an ammendment to the constitution prior to the 1997 general election allows the President to appoint ministers and assistant ministers from any political party that has representation in parliament.

Who is Who in Kenya's first post-independence Coalition Cabinet

Unless noted, all MPs are belong to KANU

Ministers of State

  • William Ole Ntimama
  • Major (rtd) Marsden Madoka
  • Shariff Nassir Taib,
  • Julius Sunkuli

Assistant Ministers

  • Fredrick Gumo
  • William Ruto
  • Mohammed Yusuf Haji
  • Robert Kochalle
  • Samuel Moroto

Office of the Vice President and Ministry of Home Affairs, Heritage and Sports

  • Prof. George Saitoti.
  • Francis Nyenze (Minister of Heritage and Sports)

Assistant Ministers

  • Wycliffe Osundwa
  • Marere Wamwachai
  • Simeon Kiptum Choge

Ministry of Finance and Planning

  • Chris Okemo(Minister for Finance)
  • Dr Adhu Awiti, NDP (Minister for Planning)

Assistant Ministers

  • Christopher Lomada
  • Charles Kirui
  • John Marimoi

Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Co-operation

  • Chris Obure

Assistant Ministers

  • Sheldon Muchilwa
  • Mohammed Abdi Affey
  • Peter Odoyo (NDP)

Ministry for Education, Science and Technology

  • Henry Kosgei (Minister for Education)
  • Gedion Ndambuki (Minister for Science and Technology)

Assistant Ministers

  • Moody Awori
  • Mathews Karauri
  • Joshua Ojodeh (NDP)
  • Samuel Losuron Poghisio

Ministry of Labour and Human Resource Development

  • Joseph Ngutu (Minister for Labour)
  • Issac Ruto (Minister for Vocational Training)

Assistant Ministers

  • David Ethuro
  • Yussuf Chanzu
  • Jesse Maiz

Ministry of Energy

  • Raila Odinga (NDP)

Assistant Ministers

  • Abdi Tari Sasura
  • Shadrack Manga
  • Joseph arap Leting

Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources

  • Kipng'eno arap Ngeny (Minister for Water Development)
  • Jackson Kalweo (Minister for Mineral Exploration)
  • Noah Katana Ngala (Minister for Environment)

Assistant Ministers

  • Tola Kofa Mugawa
  • Joseph Kimkung
  • Adan Mohammed Noor
  • Stephen ole Ntutu

Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development

  • Dr Bonaya Godana (Minister for Agriculture)
  • Dr Yekoyada Masakhalia (Minister for Rural Development)

Assistant Ministers

  • George Khaniri
  • Elijah Sumbeiywo
  • Joseph Lotodo
  • Col. (rtd) Ronald Kiluta.

Ministry of Trade and Industry

  • Nicholas Biwott

Assistant Ministers

  • Albert Ekirapa
  • Mohammed Abdi Mohammed

Ministry of Transport and Communication

  • Musalia Mudavadi

Assistant Ministers

  • Mathias Keah
  • Peter Lenges
  • Paul Sang

Ministry of Tourism and Information

  • Kalonzo Musyoka

Assistant Ministers

  • David Sankori
  • Francis Tarar

Ministry of Roads and Public Works

  • William Murgor

Assistant Ministers

  • Eng. Samuel Rotich
  • Charfano Mokku
  • Jembe Mwakalu

Ministry of Health

  • Prof. Sam Ongeri (Minister of Health)
  • Hussein Maalim Mohammed (Minister for Medical Services)

Assistant Ministers

  • Dr Guracha Galgallo
  • Dr Abdullahi Wako
  • Stephen Mukangu

Ministry of Local Government

  • Joseph J. Kamotho

Assistant Ministers

  • Mohammed Salim Fumo
  • Joseph Kiangoi
  • Musa Sirma

Ministry of Lands and Settlement

  • Joseph Nyagah

Assistant Ministers

  • Daudi Sudi
  • Joseph Wamukoya


©2001 State House, Nairobi and Science and Engineering Research Center